ict.govt.nz is being migrated into digital.govt.nz
This snapshot contains remaining content not yet migrated

International Leadership

The Digital 7, or D7, is a network of the world’s most advanced digital nations with a shared goal of harnessing digital technology and new ways of working to improve citizens’ lives.

The original members are Estonia, Israel, New Zealand, South Korea and the United Kingdom with Canada and Uruguay joining the group in February 2018.

The D7 countries have a track record in leading digital government, including designing services around users’ needs and sharing open source solutions with other countries.

As a group, the D7:

  • shares world-class digital practices
  • identifies improvements to digital services
  • collaborates to solve common problems
  • supports and champions the group's growing digital economies.

They are committed to working towards the following principles of digital development:

  • user needs
  • open standards
  • open source
  • open markets
  • open government
  • connectivity
  • teach children to code
  • assisted digital
  • commitment to share and learn.

D5 Charter (PDF 417KB) (external site link)

D5 Charter (HTML)

Digital 5 2018

In February 2018, New Zealand hosted 3 events as part of the annual D5 meeting:

  • Digital Nations 2030 conference
  • Digital Government Showcase
  • D5 Ministerial Summit

Digital 5 2018

About the D7

The network of world-leading digital nations was established in 2014 in London with five founding members (the Digital 5 or D5) including:

Founding members:

In 2015, the group met in Tallinn, Estonia and a year later in Busan, South Korea. There was no D5 meeting in 2017.

Canada and Uruguay joined the group at the D5 Ministerial Summit in New Zealand in 2018, so it is now called the D7:

The Department of Internal Affairs leads NZ's work under the D7 (external site link)

Key documents

D5 Charter (PDF 417KB) (external site link)

D5 Charter (HTML)

D5 Busan Declaration (PDF 889KB) (external site link)

D5 Busan Declaration (HTML)

Page last updated: 02/03/2018